ARC · Book Blog · Book Blog Tour · Fantasy · Giveaway · Review

Book Tour: The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova

perf5.500x8.500.inddTitle: The Alchemists of Loom

Author: Elise Kova

Date Publish: January 10th 2017

Publisher: Keymaster Press

Goodreads Rating: 4.44

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Her vengeance. His vision.

Ari lost everything she once loved when the Five Guilds’ resistance fell to the Dragon King. Now, she uses her unparalleled gift for clockwork machinery in tandem with notoriously unscrupulous morals to contribute to a thriving underground organ market. There isn’t a place on Loom that is secure from the engineer turned thief, and her magical talents are sold to the highest bidder as long as the job defies their Dragon oppressors.

Cvareh would do anything to see his sister usurp the Dragon King and sit on the throne. His family’s house has endured the shame of being the lowest rung in the Dragons’ society for far too long. The Alchemist Guild, down on Loom, may just hold the key to putting his kin in power, if Cvareh can get to them before the Dragon King’s assassins.

When Ari stumbles upon a wounded Cvareh, she sees an opportunity to slaughter an enemy and make a profit off his corpse. But the Dragon sees an opportunity to navigate Loom with the best person to get him where he wants to go.

He offers her the one thing Ari can’t refuse: A wish of her greatest desire, if she brings him to the Alchemists of Loom.


REVIEW

First things first, I am so thankful that I have chosen to be one of the bloggers who will host a tour of this book. Seriously, I want to read this book so much. I’ve tried all the giveaways I found that the price is an ARC of this book; unfortunately I didn’t win any of those. I’ve also tried requesting it on Netgalley but they rejected me. When finally, Ms Kova, the Dragon Queen, announced that there is an opening for the tour of this book, I immediately grabbed it and signed up. So I am very very thankful to Xpresso Book Tours for giving me the chance to read the book!!

Alright, let’s go to the review proper.

Oh, I’ll be putting quotes from the book in between paragraphs. You could read it but do not let it distract you from reading my whole review.

The reason why I wanted to read this is because I got curious of the title got pulled by the cover and got me wondering if the early reviews about this book are real. And it was, without a doubt, very real.

This book is amazing!

I don’t think I’ve read a book that talk about dragons and chimera before. This is the first book! This is also the first book I’ve read where the characters where not human-ish. Sure they have hands and body and other stuff very human-like but the skin color, the eyes and most of the stuff are so new to me! And it was so good!

The story got me hooked from the beginning! Though honestly when I was reading the first three pages I didn’t know what was going on. Though I continue and then the next thing I know is I’m on the 45% of the book. I know, it’s crazy. Whenever I read it, I feel like I’m flying through the pages. The plot is new to me. The flow of it is new and it got me thinking that I want to visit inside Ms Kova’s head just to see how it works because of this book. But then she said sometimes her head could get dark so I’d rather stay in books.

Though this is my first read from Ms Kova’s works, I knew that she’s an amazing author. I’ve been trying so hard to get my hands on the copy of her other series but sad story I’m broke so I’ll save up first.

Back to the story, I still want to talk about it but I don’t want to spoil anyone reading this so I’d rather go to the characters now.

 “I gave up building hope long ago. It relies too much on trust that is too easily broken.”

So, the characters! There were four main characters in the story in which the story was told in their point of views. I’ll go first with the Dragon King’s Master Rider, Leona.

Leona is not her full name. She is a she and she’s the Dragon King’s Master Rider and somewhat right hand woman. She is the kind of servant any king would want to have. She submits and she follows orders for her king. She does her duties excellently for the glory of the name of her king. I think she is just crazy madly in love with the Dragon King that is why she’ll do anything for him. Yup. It’s kind of weird to me that the king and the right hand woman have an affair. Though I think it’s quite fine because I didn’t hear anything about the dragon queen all throughout the book aside from that part where Leona wanted to challenge the queen to a duel so Leona could be the king’s mate. Though I am so glad on how she ended up in Arianna’s hands. Haha!

“Arrogance and confidence are not the same, but both will get you killed.”

Next is the person Arianna cared the most, her student/apprentice Florence. Born a Raven but is a Revolver. A runaway. And a very adorable character. She is not the cotton candy sweet type of character but when it comes to Arianna being the way she is, I think Florence is Arianna’s positive and sweet vibe in her life. I couldn’t tell much about her character though. She didn’t make much impression to me compared to the other characters in the book. All I could say about her is that she had the biggest character development in all of them throughout the book.

Next is the dragon, Cvareh. I know. His name is hard to pronounce. But according to the pronunciation guide in the book, it’s pronounced as Suh-va-rey. I don’t know the correct spelling but I know that’s how you pronounce it. Lol! So Cvareh is the beginning of the plot of the book. He’s the harbinger. Lol. Did I really use that word? Man. Haha! So, yeah, he’s the reason why the book started its adventure. He wasn’t in good terms with Arianna at first because of Arianna’s hate towards dragons. But Cvareh has no other choice but to rely on Arianna to complete his mission. And along the way of the adventure, Cvareh developed a feeling towards Arianna. A feeling that I think is called infatuation. But I guess there is no such word in his dragon vocabulary. Haha! I like Cvareh’s character. He exchange banters with Arianna. Those times where he would think of things to say to her then expect her to cut him or finish him off. He seems to always know that whatever he says or tries to say to Arianna will either lead her to knocking him on his ass or cut him off but then say it anyway. I could say that he is one brave dragon.

Then lastly, the main character, Arianna. I gotta say this, I have a classmate with an almost same name as her. My classmate’s name is Arriane. And everytime I go to school and see Arriane in school, I always remember Arianna. Arianna is somehow a realistic main character in a story where badass woman exist. She’s like Black Widow, Lara Croft and then Sherlock Holmes combined. She’s smart, talented, strong and really really badass. Though she is not invincible. I’ve read a lot of books where the main characters were female and it seems like those characters were invincible and no weakness at all. In this book, Arianna isn’t invincible, she receives punches and blows from the enemies, and she got hurt but still fights back. There are times that I thought she’d lose in a fight but then tables turn and she ends up winning. I like that about her. It makes her more realistic than the others. Also, she has weakness. Mostly, main heroes’ or heroines’ weakness were not reveal in the book but got discovered instead. But not Arianna. It was obvious from the beginning what is her weakness, or rather who. Like I said, she’s perfectly imperfect. She’s awesome but has flaws. And I like that about her.

Now this character is not one of the main characters but I just want to talk about the extension of his name. Yveun Dono, the Dragon King. Now I’ve always pronounced his name as Iv-un instead of Ye-vun. And I think I know where the Dono came from. I’m a fan of Animes. I watch them whenever I feel like it. And I learned that the term Dono is used when referring to someone respectful or with a higher status than the person talking. It’s an extension of their name just like how it used with the Dragon King’s name, Yveun. And as I always hang out on Ms Kova’s social media accounts, I’ve concluded that maybe she put the Dono extension after the king’s name it’s a sign of respect? Haha! Okay. I’m just actually sharing my own knowledge about Japanese stuff. I’m learning their language so yeah.

Now let’s go to the writing style.

The style is so easy to follow. It was really detailed, the fight scenes, the other stuff and the stuff that matters the most. It’s like I’m watching a movie inside my head while reading! Though sure enough it has a lot of violence because of the fight scenes, a lot of describing blood and wounds, I don’t think it has reach to a point where it needs to be limited to adults only. I mean, the fight scenes were the best scenes! And I have never read a fight scene where there were no blood and wounds. Lol!

Though if you prefer a book where there is no violence at all, then skip this one. But I’m pretty sure you’ll have second thoughts right after.

This book is the most fantastic fantasy genre I’ve ever read. I like how it used magic and other fantasy stuff without getting the realistic parts of it. It’s both a fantasy and a reality, if that’s even possible.

I know my review is getting really long now but I just want to point out why I rated it a perfect rate. So now that you know, I recommend this to you. I’m sure you won’t regret reading this.

P.S

Some of you, peeps, know that I play video games and there’s this one game I played that has a character that whenever I picture Cvareh in head, this guy right here is what I pictured first before the actual image of him.

325px-androxus_default


RATE:

reward-clipart-gold-starreward-clipart-gold-starreward-clipart-gold-starreward-clipart-gold-starreward-clipart-gold-star


 

 

perf5.500x8.500.indd

Purchase it here:

Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks

 

If you want to have a swag pack included in purchasing the book, get it here.

 


 

There’s a giveaway going on this book! Make sure to enter!

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 


About the Author…

8306309

Elise Kova has always had a profound love of fantastical worlds. Somehow, she managed to focus on the real world long enough to graduate with a Master’s in Business Administration before crawling back under her favorite writing blanket to conceptualize her next magic system. She currently lives in St. Petersburg, Florida, and when she is not writing can be found playing video games, watching anime, or talking with readers on social media.

Find her in social media!

Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

Brought to you by:

buttonxbt

~***~

3 thoughts on “Book Tour: The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova

Leave a Reply

