ARC · Fantasy · Novel Book Review · Review

Book Review: Wondrous by Travis M. Riddle

32578571Title: Wondrous

Author: Travis M. Riddle

Date Publish: January 17th 2017

Goodreads Rating: 3.92

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Miles went to sleep tucked tightly in bed in his Austin apartment and woke up in the middle of a damp, dark forest in the kingdom of Rompu, a land being torn apart by a civil war between its king and queen.

Miles has few companions in this vast kingdom, which is filled with fantastical animals and flora yet sprinkled with familiar items like digital clocks and vinyl records. As he searches for a way to return home, he discovers that certain memories trigger magical abilities: he can shoot fireballs from his palms, heal with nothing but a touch, and more. But as he struggles to make sense of this new world, his thoughts are punctuated by painful memories of his sick grandmother, quarreling parents, and an icy school therapist.

When Miles learns that a monstrous entity flying through the countryside and killing for sport was summoned from a portal to another realm, he believes this creature is the key to learning how to open another rift and return home. Tracking down this beast and mastering his newfound magical abilities may be the only way for Miles to help save Rompu and get back to his family in Texas.

 


REVIEW

 

Ola peeps!

 

Here I am again posting another review post. And today’s book is Wondrous by Travis M. Riddle.

 

First and foremost, I want to thank Mr. Riddle for providing me a copy of his book in exchange of an honest review. This book will be release this January 17th 2017. Be sure to check it out, peeps! Let’s get started.

 

Wondrous is about a nine year old boy named Miles who magically got teleported into a new world, a place called Rompu; a very new world where humans are not heard of but not totally new because there are also things that are the same from the world Miles came from, Austin. When Miles arrived in Rompu he discovered that he has the ability to control the elements of that world which are fire, water, earth, and lightning. Also, he has a healing ability. There’s a big problem in Rompu that Miles needs to solve first before he can go back home. All these while having thoughts of his life before he arrived in Rompu.

 

My first thought about this book is how did a nine year old boy survived being alone in a world where he never heard anything about. Though I can’t remember anything when I was nine year old but I know if I was in Miles shoes, I would be terrified. Though it was said that Miles was also terrified, he made a weird way not to show it too much.

 

But I won’t deny that I really admire Miles bravery all throughout the book. He is brave that sometimes I forget that the main hero in the book is a nine year old if it wasn’t for the constant reminder about his parents. He earned his strength and bravery from the memories of his parents.

 

Before Miles arrived in Rompu, his parents got divorced. Although his parents didn’t tell him the exact reason why, I think I know. Miles is training to master his ability to control elements and his way of doing it is to think of images about his parents and other people in his life that associated a certain emotion that could make him control a certain element. Though I think that part is a unique one I also think that it’s not a healthy thought when it’s a nine year old who’s thinking it. Thoughts about being mad at your parents, being sad at something you lost that you can’t actually fully understand are not healthy. That’s just an opinion for me. He’s a kid and if this book is ever going to have young readers, I don’t think that’s a good example to have. You know how kids are; they could easily get influenced by a lot of things. And if this book is meant to have a teenage reader or a young-adult reader like me, I would say that it didn’t have the same caliber as to what I usually read. Just saying.

 

Though there are things that I don’t like about this book, the adventure of the book make up for it. It has a lot of it. Travelling and learning magic is a really good one. And the characters were all supportive of Miles training his powers, which made me think that the book is really intended for young readers.

 

The ending though, I don’t know how to feel about it. The ending was supposed to be that Miles will be going back home in his parents in Austin. But it didn’t really say if he ever did make it home. And the way he found out how, it was like so easy. Which make me think that fighting the dragon in Rompu was a little useless? Useless for Miles’ point of view by the way but very helpful for the Rompuns because honestly I don’t think Miles have learned anything from his adventure all throughout the book. I don’t think he learned the reason why his parents got divorced or learned a way to understand it while he’s still in his age. I don’t even know what the essence of the story is for Miles. I think the story only benefitted the Rompuns but not Miles which is kind of unfair because Miles is the main hero and not the Rompuns.

 

When it comes to adventure, this book could pass. But when it comes to something else like character development and such, I don’t think so. I really think this book is intended for young readers out there and not for people like me. Haha!

Anyway if you peeps still want to read this because you’re too curious, go ahead and give it a shot. Like I always say, we all have different opinions on the same things. Love you all!

 


 

 

RATE:

reward-clipart-gold-starreward-clipart-gold-starreward-clipart-gold-star

 


 

32578571

Purchase Links:

Amazon | Goodreads | B&N


About the Author…

15962594

TRAVIS M. RIDDLE lives with his pooch in Austin, TX, where he earned his bachelor’s degree in English Writing & Rhetoric at St. Edward’s University. His work has been published in award-winning literary journal the Sorin Oak Review.

Goodreads | Website | Twitter

~***~

Leave a Reply

