Fantasy · Novel Book Review · Review

Book Review: Dragonkyn by Nathan Smith Jones

51pk1bdigjl-_sx322_bo1204203200_

 

Title: Dragonkyn

Author: Nathan Smith Jones

Date Publish: February 14th 2017

Publisher: Cedar Fort, Inc.

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Marc Mondragon is your average teenager: always getting into trouble, crushing on the pretty girl in school. But when strange things begin happening to his body, Marc is thrust into a new world where dragons are no longer just fairytales. Now knowing he’s part dragon, Marc joins a group of Dragonkyn who call themselves Sorceron. As Marc discovers new powers within himself, he starts to wonder how much he can really trust his fellow Dragonkyn. After the leader of Sorceron orders the rest of the group to kill Marc, he flees. But when he discovers that people are going to attack the Sorceron, Marc is faced with a dilemma. Will he try to help the Dragonkyn who tried to kill him?


 

dragon_review

Ola peeps!

How are you all?

First off, I want to thank the author, Nathan Jones, and the publisher, Cedar Fort, Inc., for sending me a copy of the book in exchange of an honest review.

Let’s start!

Just how cool is the coincidence of this book coming my way when I just changed my blog name into The Booknerd Dragon. Haha! It’s like all the dragon spirit or gods had agreed of my blog name change. And I so love it!

The very first thing that caught my attention about this book is the title, Dragonkyn. I was sure that’s not a real word. And when I read the blurb, I was like, okay let’s give this a shot. Though I know from reading the blurb that this book isn’t meant for someone my age. Haha! And it has funny chapter titles which remind me so much of Uncle Rick Riordan’s books.

This book is about a boy named Marc who is a part dragon, half-human half-dragon. And I think being half-dragon is pretty awesome. And then Marc met new people, new friends and new enemies and then he went to an adventure. But the adventure part for me isn’t the adventure I was expecting.

The beginning of the book is good. It introduced the characters and the situation just fine. The story wasn’t fast paced and I like it that way. There were no shocking moves just to get to the point of the book already. But when I reached the near-end part, everything was suddenly happening so fast. And the ending feels like it was written just so the book will end at around the 200th page. It feels like it wasn’t the right ending if the author had a choice. I mean, I don’t know how it should end but this should not be it.

Which makes me think that this book is not a standalone. Though it feels like it but I think it is part of a series. Because that’s the only way why the ending went the way it did. If this book is a standalone then I do not like the ending.

The book is in third person point of view. This kind of point of view is fine with me because you can see all the angles, know all the thoughts of all the important characters. But there are times that I got confused as to whose point of view was being narrated. There were no indication if the chapter was for the main character or the villain.

And the book has the cliché of a weak-character-turn-to-an-awesome-one-in-the-end in a matter of one chapter. Yup. And, my, when I read about an invisible fire in the blurb I was thinking that maybe this fire is what makes Marc, the main character, unique. I thought it was what makes him the main character of the book. But no. I don’t think he is unique at all. He is a weak main character and he doesn’t stand out. And even though he transformed at the end of the book it still wasn’t enough.

Then the villains. I think the villains in this book is the kind of villain you see in a kid’s movie. You know that movies where there are adult-vs-kid situations? Like Home Alone and yeah I wanna include 101 Dalmatians even though those weren’t kids but dogs but you get the picture. Yeah. Hey. I think I just found the right comparison of this book. It feels exactly like those movies.

I would say that this book is really great if the one reading it is in middle grade or younger readers. Not a young adult close to being adult reader. I seriously would enjoy this if I read this when I was still attending elementary school. It was fun, cool, and hey it’s dragons. But then I read it in this age so these are my thoughts.

I’m gonna wrap this up by saying that this is not a bad book. I am just not the right reader for it so I didn’t get to appreciate the goodness of it that much. But if you have someone, a son or a nephew maybe whom you want to be a reader, this could be a good book to recommend to them. It didn’t have hardcore action and the characters are mostly teenagers who didn’t reach legality yet. And it didn’t have romance just a little crush but it wasn’t focused on the story.


 

dragon_rate

tribal_wings_by_velveteeniristribal_wings_by_velveteeniristribal_wings_by_velveteeniristribal_wings_by_velveteeniris_half


 

dragon_author

 

nathan-s-jones2-200x300

Nathan Smith Jones has been a public school English teacher for many years. He believes equally in the power of stories and in the power of the Vibe -the force that connects all dragons. He lives in Utah with his wife and five children.

Goodreads | Website


l.gif

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Dragonkyn by Nathan Smith Jones

  1. Huh. I wonder why Goodreads doesn’t have the cover this, because it’s a cool cover. So weird. Anyway! Fantastic review, Jannin! I am loving that little gif of Toothless. So adorable!! (I’m feeling a bit tired so that’s why there was not more randomness in this comment.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

