Novel Book Review · Review

Book Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

31140295

 

Title: The Bone Witch

Author: Rin Chupeco

Date Published: March 7th 2017

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there’s anything I’ve learned from him in the years since, it’s that the dead hide truths as well as the living.

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha-one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles…and make a powerful choice.

 


 

dragon_review

 

Hiya peeps!

 

Here I am again with another review despite having quizzes and exams! Let’s high five to this awesomeness! *high five* (Reference to What I Need by J. Daniels :D)

 

This time, I’m reviewing The Bone Witch by a Filipino author Rin Chupeco. I received a copy of this book from Netgalley. Let’s get to it.

 

The book is about a young girl named Tea who didn’t mean to raise her brother, Fox, from the dead. Then she found out that she’s a Dark Asha, some kind of a rare witch. So she started her journey with another dark asha in becoming an apprentice and someday becoming a full Dark Asha.

 

I seriously have high expectation about this book. It is from a Filipino author. And knowing that having your book published here in my country is hard enough, Ms Chupeco had hers in a foreign land is kind of new to me and I admit, I felt proud for her. So I was excited when I was given a chance to read and review this book of hers. But what I read somehow disappoint me.

 

I thought this book is awesome. The blurb sure does sounds good. Not to mention the cover is enough to have you grabbing it to buy. So imagine my disappointment when I found out that those were just fronts.

 

At first it was all good. Tea raised her brother from the dead, something happened in that very first page. Which made me continue reading until I feel like it’s starting to get slow and I kind of like missing the point of the story anymore.

 

So Tea is a dark asha, a very rare kind of asha or witch, so she’s that badass if you put it like that. What I didn’t get is if she’s a rare witch and, according to the book, really powerful, why is she attending tea parties and working like a maid?? Like seriously? Also as I’m reading the book, the point of it is slowly fading. Until I don’t know what’s going on anymore. First she set out a journey to be an asha apprentice only to become a maid on an asha house for a while. Why? I know it says in the book that she needs to be tested if she’s really worth training or not. But still! She’s a rare and really powerful asha, isn’t that enough reason to train her?

 

After getting past on the 67% of reading I gave up. The book is getting really slow by this time and I don’t see the point of the story anymore. I don’t know what kind of path Tea is walking on now. I try finishing it, convincing myself that there’s gotta be more to this story. There’s got to be. But then ugh!

 

One thing that made me give up to this book is the kind of narration. I get that you need to describe the surrounding of the scene so your readers can have a good picture of it in their head. But the way things, places, and characters are described here are way too much. It’s like in every little thing, it’s being described. Every hua, the asha’s clothes, in every asha ever mentioned in this book is being explain so long I got bored that I didn’t even bother reading the whole paragraph. Not to mention the characters that when you read their descriptions it’s like reading their whole family tree and some parts of their lives. I mean what? Too much! Too many describing and less talking and getting on the point and it’s getting boring.

 

So I gave up. I didn’t like it. I tried though but this book is not working for me.

 

To wrap this up, I DNF this, guys, so I don’t know whether to recommend this or not. But if you feel like you want to give this one a try then go ahead. As for me, I didn’t like it period. 😀

 


 

dragon_rate

 

tribal_wings_by_velveteeniristribal_wings_by_velveteeniris

 


 

dragon_author

 

7055613

Despite an unsettling resemblance to Japanese revenants, Rin always maintains her sense of hummus. Born and raised in Manila, Philippines, she keeps four pets: a dog, two birds, and a husband. Dances like the neighbors are watching.

She is represented by Rebecca Podos of the Helen Rees Agency. She is also fond of speaking in the third person, and may as well finish this short bio in this manner. While she does not always get to check her Goodreads page, she does answer questions posed to her here as promptly as she is able to. Find her at the following places instead:

 

Twitter | Pinterest | Blog | Newsletter 

 


 

Thanks for reading up to here! Love you all!

l

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

    1. Thanks Mandy. Yes it was indeed super slow. I sometimes just want to skip the whole book and read the end so I know what happened. But then it would feel like I’m missing something. 🙂 Yeah, I hope so too. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

