Monday Learning

Monday Learning (Lesson #2)

Hiya bessies!

 

How are you all?

 

Welcome to the second lesson of Monday Learning!!!

giphy

 

First of all, I want to apologize if I hadn’t posted a lesson last Monday. I was on a trip with my family so I didn’t got the time to write a lesson let alone post it. Anyway, here’s another lesson for you!! πŸ˜€

 

Okay. For today’s lesson, we are still learning one more language lesson. I think this is gonna be the last of the language lesson until I couldn’t think of other things to teach you bessies anymore. XD

 

I hope we remembered what we learned on the previous lesson. What was the word again?

 

Yes!

 

“Kilig”

 

What does it mean?

 

That’s right! Excitement due to romantic situations or it could also be β€œFeels”, as what our good student and my good friend Sophie @ Blame Chocolate suggested. πŸ˜€

 

Hey! You’re all learning! Haha!

 

Alright! Let’s go to the next language lesson.

 

It is still in the Tagalog language though it is vastly used in most non-Tagalog places here in the Philippines. Also, these two words have other translated words around Asia but I don’t think there are any in the western countries. But hey if there are kindly enlighten me. I wanna know too! πŸ˜€

 

So these two words are

 

β€œAte”

 

pronounced as β€œah-teh”

 

And

 

β€œKuya”

 

pronounced as β€œkoo-yah”

 

What are those two words mean??

 

Well, they are the ones you use when you address someone older than you. It could be use when you’re calling an older sibling, or someone you don’t know but want to call for attention.

 

β€œAte” is used when addressing an older woman or older sister. Its known use is for addressing your big sisters or cousins or even neighbors. Sometimes if you want to address a woman stranger, you can call them β€œate”.

 

I believe that in Japanese this is translated as β€œOnee-chan” or older sister, right? And in Korean it is β€œNoona”. They are basically the same. πŸ˜€

 

And β€œKuya” is used when addressing an older man or older brother. Just like the word ate, its known use is also addressing an older brother or cousin or neighbor. And it could be use when addressing a man stranger.

 

In the Japanese language this is translated as β€œOnii-chan” or older brother. In Korean it is β€œHyung”.

 

Most Filipinos use these two words to call their older siblings. We do not call our older siblings by their names. And when we use these terms to address strangers, we only use this to those who are single. I mean unmarried individuals. We have different terms for those who are married just like the other countries have. But this doesn’t have to apply always. Our language is not strict at all. You can still call a married woman ate and a married man kuya especially if you do not know them.

 

However, it is different when it’s in a sibling. If your older sibling marries someone, you still call her ate or kuya because that’s just our way of being respectful to someone older than us.

 

 

I hope I relayed the different uses of these two terms clearly to you bessies. XD I thought this is gonna be an easy lesson to teach but boy was I wrong. xD

 

Anyway, I hope you bessies remember this one too. If ever you bes suddenly decides to visit the small country of Philippines, you will know what to call people here when you ask for help. Oh and if that happens, don’t forget to tell me because I might be nearby and I could be your personal tour guide! Haha! XD

 

What do you bessies wanna learn next? Any suggestion? I’m open for all topics so long as I know it! πŸ˜€ Let’s talk in the comments!

 

Thanks for reading up to here bessies! Love you all!

l

2 thoughts on “Monday Learning (Lesson #2)

Leave a Reply

