Fantasy · Novel Book Review · paranormal · Review

Book Review: Seraphina’s Awakening by Sheena Hutchinson

30628786

 

Title: Seraphina’s Awakening (Seraphina #1)

Author: Sheena Hutchinson

Genre: Fantasy, Supernatural

Published Date: September 2016

Publisher: Sheena Hutchinson LLC

 

Goodreads Rating: 4.03

Synopsis (Goodreads):

For as long as she can remember, Seraphina Cross has experienced these visions that made her feel like there was more to life. It wasn’t until one moment, one accident that her life changed forever.

She awakens the next day a new person in more ways than one. With no recollection of past night’s events, she’s forced to adapt to certain sensations she is experiencing all while trying to piece together what exactly happened to her that fateful night.

Her strange, hectic life doesn’t seem to make sense until she meets a handsome stranger. Only then does the puzzle finally piece itself together. What she doesn’t expect is the new powers she has developed attracting all kinds of unwanted attention.

Thrown into a world she never truly believed existed she is forced to come to grips with who she is becoming while staying out of trouble long enough to figure out what needs to be done to fulfill her destiny.

 


 

dragon_review

 

Hiya bessies!

 

How are you all?

 

 

First off, I received this book from Xpresso Book Tours via Netgalley to read and review. For that I am grateful but it will not influence my review in any way.

 

 

Let’s start! 😀

 

 

This book is about a girl named Seraphina or most people call her Sera. She’s a unique kind of girl because according to the book, she’s got the aura that made most people want to be close to her. Like most people are drawn to her. However, it was not just living people that are drawn to her but also the dead, spirits, demons, and angels. And when those things started coming to her, her life just got a little complicated. By little I mean super complicated.

 

 

Let me get this first before anything else, I’ve heard about this book somewhere but I can’t remember where. It was the second book of this series that I saw first and when I found out that the first book was entitled Seraphina’s Awakening and it somehow sounded familiar. So I requested it when I saw it in the Review Opportunity section of the Xpresso website.

 

I was kind of excited to read this because I got high expectations about this book. However, as I’m reading it, I realized that my expectations were indeed too high.

 

It was entitled Seraphina’s Awakening but I was 75% in and I still do not know what she’s awakened from. Lol. And I was so confused.

 

Dude I don’t know what the main genre of this book is. It seems like fantasy but then it also feels a lot like romance, there are so many men involved bes.

 

If I’m judging the book’s genre from the title alone, I would really say it’s a fantasy kind of book. But when I read it, bes, it feels like romance. I’m so confused. But I just keep reading thinking that maybe the romance is just a side genre because, hey, it’s an awakening book. Like there’s more to it than romance I’m sure of it. But then there’s none. If there is I didn’t feel any of it.

 

Though I have to say that the concept of the book is kind of nice. It wasn’t unique for me because it’s not my first time reading an angel-human romance. Yes. It is an angel-human romance. Though it wasn’t just an angel and a human. There’s actually a love triangle in here. And you wanna guess who the third one is? Yeah?

 

If you’re thinking that the third one to complete the love triangle is a demon, then you’re

tenor

 

Lol! XD

 

That would be cliché if the third one is a demon which makes the love triangle very… XD. No. the third person in the love triangle is a psychic. Yes. A guy psychic. I’ve never heard of it too but it’s here in this book.

 

And then there’s this part where Sera died and was reborn. Yeah. That’s when the changes started happening. Sera has dreams about angels and demons but sometimes those dreams aren’t explained that well. Like what are those dreams for? Why is she dreaming those? Why? Why? Why?

 

Then the narration part is a bit confusing. It is narrated in a third person point of view and most of it and in Seraphina’s point of view but then there are times when it will just turn into a first person point of view. One minute the narration is using he, she, them, and then the next it was I and we. It was confusing.

 

To wrap this up, I was expecting that the story of this book would be good. Like epic or something. I don’t know why I put an expectation that high. Lol! Still I don’t know what Sera was awakened from and I think I need to read the second book to find out what it is. Until then, I didn’t like the story.

 

 

What about you bessies? Have you read this book? What do you think about? Will you read it? Let’s talk in the comments!

 


 

dragon_rate

 

tribal_wings_by_velveteeniristribal_wings_by_velveteeniris

 


 

dragon_author

 

 

7711109

Sheena is a born and raised New Yorker, who followed her happily ever after to a much more rural town in Maine. When she’s not driving an hour to find a Starbucks or running from bugs that are way to big for her taste, she’s focusing on writing stories that empower and inspire.

Sheena always roots for the underdog, believes in love at first sight, and that everyone should have their happily ever after.

Goodreads | Website | Twitter

 


 

Thanks for reading up to here bessies! Love you all!

l

Leave a Reply

