New Adult · Novel Book Review · Review · Romance · Series

Book Review: Talon (The Uncompromising Series #1) by Sybil Bartel

29371650

 

Title: Talon (The Uncompromising Series #1)

Author: Sybil Bartel

Genre: Romance, New Adult

Date Published: March 1st 2016

Goodreads Rating: 3.86

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Talon

I surf.
I fuck.
I pretend to smile.

Two years ago my life was perfect, until it wasn’t. I scattered my wife’s ashes then walked away from the Marines. I didn’t think I had anything left to lose.
I was wrong.

The blond showed up at my surf shop, beaten and stabbed. I did what I was trained to do—I stitched her up. I didn’t have a clue who she was and I told myself I didn’t care. Until they came looking for her.

I swore I’d take my last breath before I let anyone else hurt her except I didn’t know she was keeping a deadly secret. Now I had two choices, her life or mine.

Marriage and combat taught me the same thing—I was no one’s hero. And I was about to prove it.

Goodreads


 

dragon_review

 

Hiya bessies!

How are you all?

 

Bes, after reading the Thrust series, especially Dane’s book, I got curious about the other men mentioned in the story. So when I found out that there’s another series for these said men, I went for it. And I’m glad I did because I got to see another side of Ms Sybil Bartel’s writing.

 

So let’s start!

 

This book is about a medic ex-Marine, yeah all of Bartel’s books I’ve read so far are all about ex-Marines, Talon Talerco. After his wife died, he quit being a Marine and became a businessman with a reputation with women. When he got tangled with Nicole Asher’s, his Siren, life everything in him changed –everything including the possibility of falling in love all over again.

 

One of the things that got me into reading Talon’s book is I want to know more about his nicknaming other people. Yeah, he’s got a habit of nicknaming the people he met. And I find it cute and there’s nothing cute about Talon. 😀

 

When I read the part of the blurb where he met a woman beaten and stabbed, I was picturing it in my head that the woman went to his house and knocked in the middle of a storm and then, I don’t know, maybe faint or something like that. Yeah I was picturing a dramatic entrance for the woman. However, that’s not what happened and I just had to face palm myself for being so dramatic every time I read and try to predict stuff. Haha!

 

Anyway, the story is freaking good! I wasn’t expecting the secret Nicole was hiding. She’s got a very thick wall that was so hard to break in the beginning of the book up to before the secret was revealed.

 

I can’t help think that the series Thrust and Uncompromising were written by different authors. It has a different approach which made it feel like it was written by two different authors. And it’s just an amazing work. The Thrust series has a very fast paced romance that didn’t felt like fast paced, but this series doesn’t have that same amount of fast paced-ness. (Huh?)

 

I wasn’t expecting what I read at all. I thought I would only be reading a book with the same vibe and feel with Thrust series but no, it feels different and it’s amazing. It’s like reading another side of the coin of the author.

 

To wrap this up, I love Talon’s story. It’s not as alpha as the rest of Sybil Bartel’s books I’ve read so far but it has the same amount of hotness and love. But bes, I really recommend this book. It is a full-length standalone and you won’t get spoiled to the rest of Bartel’s books. So go ahead and read em bessies!

 


 

dragon_rate

 

tribal_wings_by_velveteeniristribal_wings_by_velveteeniristribal_wings_by_velveteeniristribal_wings_by_velveteeniris

 


 

dragon_author

 

Sybil grew up in Northern California with her head in a book and her feet in the sand.

sybil bartel

She used to dream of becoming a painter but the heady scent of libraries with their

shelves full of books about wistful summer days and first loves drew her into the world of storytelling.

Sybil now resides in Southern Florida and while she doesn’t get to read as much as she likes, she still buries her toes in the sand. If she’s not writing or fighting to contain the banana plantation in her backyard, you can find her spending time with her handsomely tattooed husband, her brilliantly practical son and a mischievous miniature boxer…

But Seriously?

Here are ten things you really want to know about Sybil.

She grew up a faculty brat. She can swear like a Sailor. She loves men in uniform. She hates being told what to do. She can do your taxes (but don’t ask). The Bird Market in Hong Kong freaked her out. Her favorite word is desperate, or dirty, or both, she can’t choose. She has a thing for muscle cars. But never rely on her for driving directions, ever. And she has a new book boyfriend every week—don’t tell her husband.

To find out more about Sybil, visit her on Twitter to see what she’s up to. Commitment phobic until she met her husband, she loves those little 140 character snippets.

Or check out her Facebook page, if, you know, you’re feeling more wordy.

Goodreads | Twitter | Website | Facebook


 

So what do you think bessies? Have you read any of Sybil Bartel’s books? What are your thoughts? Let’s talk in the comments!

 

Thanks for reading up to here bessies! Love you all!

l

One thought on “Book Review: Talon (The Uncompromising Series #1) by Sybil Bartel

Leave a Reply

