New Adult · Novel Book Review · Review · Romance · Series

Book Review: Neil (The Uncompromising Series #2) by Sybil Bartel

31327318

 

Title: Neil (The Uncompromising Series #2)

Author: Sybil Bartel

Genre: Romance, New Adult

Date Published: August 22n 2016

 

Goodreads Rating: 4.18

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Ex-Danish Military Special Forces, built like a legend, and uncompromising in every way—Neil Christensen didn’t walk into my life. The Viking-sized warrior crashed it like a hurricane.

The moment he showed up at my strip club, my life fell to shit. South Florida’s most ruthless motorcycle gang, the cops, the Feds—they all want something I don’t have, something the Viking took from me.

I thought I could run, but the motorcycle gang caught me. Now the only thing standing between me and an unmarked grave is a warrior I don’t trust.

I’m not afraid to die, but I am terrified of weathering the storm. Because when a Viking decides to unleash his fury, no one is going to come out unscathed.

Goodreads


 

dragon_review

 

Hiya bessies!

How are you all?

 

Alright! I think this is my first time reviewing a whole series individually. I mean sure I review some books that were part of a series before but sometimes, I review them in bulk and then rate them in bulk as well. However, this series demands individual reviews. Haha! Well, it didn’t actually demand anything. I just want to let all my hangovers about this series go. And what better way to do it than create a review? 😀

 

Anyway, let’s start this!

 

Of all the men in Sybil Bartel’s books, Neil is the only person I am so curious about. That’s because in every book that Neil makes an appearance, he seems to be a huge, cold, lethal warrior. It’s like everything about him screams mystery and danger. I was so curious about his story. I always wonder what kind of woman would make Neil yield to love. And what he’d do to express love.

 

The answer to the first question was the unexpected kind of woman in an expected situation while the answer to other was, well, it was a bit unexpected. You see, every time Neil appears in a Bartel book, I always thought that he’s not capable of love. If he is, it would take a storm to conquer another one. And then it would be chaos. It was indeed.

 

And as I read every book of Sybil Bartel, that I know, so far, I realized that all her male characters has similarities aside from their alphaness. All of them found their women in need of rescuing, a perfect damsel in distress.

 

However, of all the damsels that needs rescuing; Neil’s damsel has the most action (Action as in exchange punches and bullets and that kind). Yeah Dane’s story has action, but I felt Neil’s action more. And it was Neil’s damsel that has the most stubborn attitude. I think Bartel made her more stubborn than the rest so it would top Neil’s personality. Haha!

 

Neil has a thing for control and he’s always calculating and always fifteen steps ahead of everyone. He is that kind of guy. So imagine when he met a woman that is so opposite of him. Yeah, total chaos.

 

I read Neil’s book because I was curious about what’s going on in his mind but then his book wasn’t narrated in his point of view and I was like

 

54a78a9754dec_-_cryinggifs_01_1

 

I badly want to know how he thinks and what he’s thinking when he met his woman. But, alas, until the end Neil is still a mystery to me.

 

In everything that happened in the book, Neil still being a mystery, I wasn’t disappointed by it in any way. I mean sure I wanted to know Neil’s thoughts but I think it would also ruin my impression of Neil if he narrated his own book. So I kind of understand why Bartel made it like that.

 

My only issue about this is the timeline of the book. Because it was a full-length standalone book, it doesn’t say anything about the rest of its series. However, the two books that I read in this series so far have the same villains and also same characters. And it hurt my head to keep thinking when this book happened and when the other book happened. But then, it’s one of the things that made me appreciate the author and this series, it doesn’t spoil the other books of the series. 😀

 

To wrap this up, this is a great book. I was so curious about the character of this book that’s why I read it and though it wasn’t what I was expecting I wasn’t disappointed either. Instead, I was amazed that even a person as guarded as Neil could still yield to love. And yeah, I think Sybil Bartel earned a place as one of my favorite authors in the adult fiction-romance genre, she and J. Daniels. I’m not the kind of reader that became an instant fan of an author that easy because when I became a fan, I stick to it like a freaking glue. So yeah, I would recommend this to you bessies. You should read this and the rest of the series.

 


 

dragon_rate

 

tribal_wings_by_velveteeniristribal_wings_by_velveteeniristribal_wings_by_velveteeniristribal_wings_by_velveteeniris

 


 

dragon_author

 

Sybil grew up in Northern California with her head in a book and her feet in the sand.

sybil bartel

She used to dream of becoming a painter but the heady scent of libraries with their

shelves full of books about wistful summer days and first loves drew her into the world of storytelling.

Sybil now resides in Southern Florida and while she doesn’t get to read as much as she likes, she still buries her toes in the sand. If she’s not writing or fighting to contain the banana plantation in her backyard, you can find her spending time with her handsomely tattooed husband, her brilliantly practical son and a mischievous miniature boxer…

But Seriously?

Here are ten things you really want to know about Sybil.

She grew up a faculty brat. She can swear like a Sailor. She loves men in uniform. She hates being told what to do. She can do your taxes (but don’t ask). The Bird Market in Hong Kong freaked her out. Her favorite word is desperate, or dirty, or both, she can’t choose. She has a thing for muscle cars. But never rely on her for driving directions, ever. And she has a new book boyfriend every week—don’t tell her husband.

To find out more about Sybil, visit her on Twitter to see what she’s up to. Commitment phobic until she met her husband, she loves those little 140 character snippets.

Or check out her Facebook page, if, you know, you’re feeling more wordy.

Goodreads | Twitter | Website | Facebook


 

What do you think bessies? Will you read a book with strong alpha male character? What are your thoughts? Let’s talk in the comments!

 

Thanks for reading up to here bessies! Love you all!

l

One thought on “Book Review: Neil (The Uncompromising Series #2) by Sybil Bartel

Leave a Reply

