Posted in ARC, Novel Book Review, Review

Book Review: Chasing Red by Isabelle Ronin

34351047

Title: Chasing Red

Author: Isabelle Ronin

Genre: Romance, New Adult, Contemporary

Date Published: September 5th 2017

Pubisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca

Goodreads Rating: 4.21

Synopsis:

They said she was going to be my ruin…
Then let her ruin me.

Caleb Lockhart has everything—wealth, adoration, a brilliant future. Until a chance encounter with a siren in a red dress changes everything. Until he meets the woman he dubs Red.

Veronica Strafford’s past makes it hard for her to trust anyone. Now, kicked out of her apartment, she reluctantly accepts Caleb’s offer for a place to stay.

Caleb feels intensely drawn to Veronica. And, for the first time in his life, he really wants something—someone. Too bad Veronica’s heart might just be the one thing Caleb can’t win.

 

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Kobo

Continue reading “Book Review: Chasing Red by Isabelle Ronin”

Advertisements
Posted in ARC, Novel Book Review, Review

Book Review (ARC): The Han Agent by Amy Rogers

35144638

 

Title: The Han Agent

Author: Amy Rogers

Genre: Thriller

Date Published: September 5th 2017

Publisher: ScienceThrillers Media

Goodreads Rating: 3.93

Synopsis (Goodreads):

A THRILLER NOVEL DRIVEN BY REAL SCIENCE…

In the 1930s, Japanese scientists committed heinous crimes in their quest for the ultimate biological weapon.

The war ended. Their mission did not.

Eighty years later, Japanese-American scientist Amika Nakamura won’t let rules stand between her and scientific glory. When the ambitious young virologist defies a ban on the genetic manipulation of influenza, she’s expelled from the university. Desperate to save her career, she accepts a position with a pharmaceutical company in Tokyo. Soon after, a visit to a disputed island entangles her in a high-profile geopolitical struggle between Japan and China. Applying her singular expertise with bird flu in a risky experiment may be the only way out. Little does she know that Japanese ultranationalists and a legacy of unpunished war crimes lurk in the shadows, manipulating people, politics, and science.

But DNA doesn’t lie. Amika uncovers a shocking truth: a deadly virus is about to put the “gene” in genocide.

 

Goodreads | Amazon

 

Continue reading “Book Review (ARC): The Han Agent by Amy Rogers”

Posted in ARC, Novel Book Review, Review, Romance, Sci-Fi

Book Review: The Harbinger (The Fray Theory #1.1) by Nelou Keramati

the harbinger cover

 

Title: The Harbinger (Th Fray Theory #1.1)

Author: Nelou Keramati

Genre: NA, Sci-Fi

Goodreads Rating: 4.58

 

Synopsis (Goodreads): What happened three years ago?

Dylan Sterling is an anomaly who dreams of events before they happen. But over the years, this peculiar gift has transformed into a curse. A dark curse in the form of a strange man who haunts him. Hunts him. Kills him.

But unlike other people, even once Dylan has awakened from a nightmare, the agony of torture clings to his skin. The horror of his own brutal murder continues to resonate with him. Pain, it seems, has long become the status quo. That is until a recurring

nightmare reveals a clue that might help him unveil the truth of his ‘condition’.

The race against time has begun, and with each passing day, the boundaries between dream and reality are becoming more and more muddled. And unless he can solve this mystery, he’ll stand to lose even more than he thought possible.

Continue reading “Book Review: The Harbinger (The Fray Theory #1.1) by Nelou Keramati”

Posted in Action, ARC, New Book Release, Novel Book Review, Review, Romance

Book Review (ARC): The Animal Under the Fur by E.J. Mellow

32623625

 

Title: The Animal Under the Fur

Author: E.J. Mellow

Date Publish: March 30th 2017

Publisher: Four Eyed Owl

Goodreads Rating: 4.28

Synopsis (Goodreads):

From award-winning author E. J. Mellow comes an action romance dripping with vengeful delight.

Orphaned on the streets as a baby, Nashville Brown, a.k.a Kill Operative 3, knows better than to rely on anyone. With heightened senses and superhuman strength to survive, she’s been raised as the perfect assassin.

The trick to her success? Keeping everyone, even her best friend, at arm’s length.

Losing his entire family in the span of a year, Carter Smith left his ability to love buried deep in their graves. His only concerns now are completing his missions and effortlessly charming the next temptress to warm his bed.

The key to his accomplishments? Working alone mixed with a Casanova smile.

But when a deadly weapon needs to be stopped from falling into the wrong hands, the lone wolves find themselves thrown into an explosive partnership. Can Carter and 3 lower their guns aimed at one another long enough to succeed, or will their unwillingness to compromise end up destroying more than their perfect records? Whatever their differences, both agree on one thing—in the game of lies and deceit, the line between friend and foe is often blurred by blood splatter.

The Animal Under The Fur is a hate-to-loath-to-love standalone novel filled with savagery, secrets, and enough angst to wrinkle the pages you’ll find gripped in your hands.

Continue reading “Book Review (ARC): The Animal Under the Fur by E.J. Mellow”

Posted in ARC, Fantasy, Novel Book Review, Review

Book Review: Wondrous by Travis M. Riddle

32578571Title: Wondrous

Author: Travis M. Riddle

Date Publish: January 17th 2017

Goodreads Rating: 3.92

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Miles went to sleep tucked tightly in bed in his Austin apartment and woke up in the middle of a damp, dark forest in the kingdom of Rompu, a land being torn apart by a civil war between its king and queen.

Miles has few companions in this vast kingdom, which is filled with fantastical animals and flora yet sprinkled with familiar items like digital clocks and vinyl records. As he searches for a way to return home, he discovers that certain memories trigger magical abilities: he can shoot fireballs from his palms, heal with nothing but a touch, and more. But as he struggles to make sense of this new world, his thoughts are punctuated by painful memories of his sick grandmother, quarreling parents, and an icy school therapist.

When Miles learns that a monstrous entity flying through the countryside and killing for sport was summoned from a portal to another realm, he believes this creature is the key to learning how to open another rift and return home. Tracking down this beast and mastering his newfound magical abilities may be the only way for Miles to help save Rompu and get back to his family in Texas.

Continue reading “Book Review: Wondrous by Travis M. Riddle”

Posted in ARC, Mystery, Novel Book Review, Psychological, Review

Book Review: Phantom Limb by Lucinda Berry

img_9359-1Title: Phantom Limb: A Gripping Psychological Thriller

Author: Lucinda Berry

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

Goodreads Rating: 4.18

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Emily and Elizabeth spend their childhood locked in a bedroom and terrorized by a mother who drinks too much and disappears for days. The identical twins are rescued by a family determined to be their saviors.

But there’s some horrors love can’t erase…

Elizabeth wakes in a hospital, strapped to her bed and unable to move or speak. The last thing she remembers is finding Emily’s body in their bathroom. Days before, she was falling in love and starting college. Now, she’s surrounded by men who talk to themselves and women who pull out their eyebrows.

As she delves deeper into the mystery surrounding Emily’s death, she discovers shocking secrets and holes in her memory that force her to remember what she’s worked so hard to forget-the beatings, the blood, the special friends. Her life spins out of control at a terrifying speed as she desperately tries to unravel the psychological puzzle of her past before it’s too late.

Phantom Limb is a character-driven mystery that begs to be read in a single setting. The shocking and shattering conclusion will make you go back and read it again.

Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Behind Closed Doors, and The Girl With No Past.

“Dark suspense at its finest”Thriller Beats

Continue reading “Book Review: Phantom Limb by Lucinda Berry”

Posted in ARC, Book Blog, Book Blog Tour, Fantasy, Giveaway, Review

Book Tour: The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova

perf5.500x8.500.inddTitle: The Alchemists of Loom

Author: Elise Kova

Date Publish: January 10th 2017

Publisher: Keymaster Press

Goodreads Rating: 4.44

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Her vengeance. His vision.

Ari lost everything she once loved when the Five Guilds’ resistance fell to the Dragon King. Now, she uses her unparalleled gift for clockwork machinery in tandem with notoriously unscrupulous morals to contribute to a thriving underground organ market. There isn’t a place on Loom that is secure from the engineer turned thief, and her magical talents are sold to the highest bidder as long as the job defies their Dragon oppressors.

Cvareh would do anything to see his sister usurp the Dragon King and sit on the throne. His family’s house has endured the shame of being the lowest rung in the Dragons’ society for far too long. The Alchemist Guild, down on Loom, may just hold the key to putting his kin in power, if Cvareh can get to them before the Dragon King’s assassins.

When Ari stumbles upon a wounded Cvareh, she sees an opportunity to slaughter an enemy and make a profit off his corpse. But the Dragon sees an opportunity to navigate Loom with the best person to get him where he wants to go.

He offers her the one thing Ari can’t refuse: A wish of her greatest desire, if she brings him to the Alchemists of Loom.

Continue reading “Book Tour: The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova”