Novel Book Review · Review

Book Review: I, Girl X by Annalise Grey

32862047

Title: I, Girl X

Author: Annalise Grey

Date Publish: November 1st 2016

Publisher: Wildling Press

Goodreads Rating: 5.00

Synopsis (Goodreads):

Carleigh is a 14 year-old girl trying to carve her own place in this world. Her younger brother’s mental illness is slowly invading every aspect of her life.

Her family is troubled. Friendships are unbearable. And just when calm begins to seem possible, one night will change Carleigh, and her family, forever.

 


 

 

REVIEW

 

Ola peeps!

 

How are you all doing?

School already started here and Iโ€™m trying to squeeze in reading time in between classes. And aside from that I know Iโ€™ll have little time with my blog in the future again. So let me post as many reviews as I can before that happens. ๐Ÿ˜€

 

Todayโ€™s book is I, Girl X by Annalise Grey.

 

First off, I want to thank Ms. Grey for sending me a copy of her book for a review. Letโ€™s start the review!

 

When I read the blurb of the book I was so curious because itโ€™s a psychological book, but for some reason I missed the part that itโ€™s a novel in verse. Now this is an honest thing for me, I am not a fan of books in verses. Itโ€™s not that I donโ€™t appreciate them but I just find the book to be hard to read. But in this book, I didnโ€™t find anything hard. It was so good.

 

The story is about a girl named Carleigh who is dealing a lot of stuff in her life that she canโ€™t seem to enjoy being a teenager. The book tells on how she managed to survive those stuffs and what happened to her after.

 

The narration of the book is really good despite being written in a poem-like manner. (I have no idea on ways of writing a book so Iโ€™m sorry for the lack of right words to describe it.) And it wasnโ€™t hard to understand. Iโ€™ve read a couple books in verses before but this one is the easiest book to understand so far because it didnโ€™t use those old, deep poetic words. Instead itโ€™s so modern like reading a normal book in shortcuts. Haha! Donโ€™t get me wrong, I like this book to be written like this because it doesnโ€™t need any more elaboration than it already had.

 

Now letโ€™s go to the story. I feel really bad for Carleigh. Sheโ€™s just a 14 year old kid but sheโ€™s already been through a lot. Sheโ€™s alone with no one to turn to or talk to aside from her journal. Sheโ€™s supposed to enjoy being a young teenager. But she canโ€™t because of her brother. And when thereโ€™s those time that things are looking up, things got worse. Itโ€™s like even though sheโ€™s trying to live a normal life, some factors of it doesnโ€™t want her to be. However, no matter what life throws at you if you wonโ€™t give up you will find happiness in your life. Despite having the kind of life Carleigh have, she managed to find some peace as the story goes on. Even though it was somewhat a hard decision for her, she did the right one.

 

The ending though, I donโ€™t know what to say. Most of Carleighโ€™s suffering if because of her brother but when the book finally ends, it shows that her brother is recovering from whatever it was heโ€™s suffering with. Itโ€™s a good sign, right? Despite what happened to their family at least now theyโ€™re both healing.

 

The book is good. Itโ€™s a sensitive topic to have but itโ€™s the truth in some families around the world. Itโ€™s also a fun read and you could get a lot of quotes from it. For me, this is my definition of poetic. Haha!

 

I recommend this to everyone, adult and teens alike. This book is for everyone regardless of the genre you usually read. Iโ€™m sure this will hook you immediately. Be sure to give it a chance!

 


 

 

RATE

reward-clipart-gold-starreward-clipart-gold-starreward-clipart-gold-starreward-clipart-gold-star

 


 

About the Author…

 

9cda9f77-6c24-466c-8fff-b807f23bba3c

Pennsylvania native, dreamer, explorer.

I write because I like talking to the voices in my head.

 

Goodreads | Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

~***~

Leave a Reply

